Created in 1979, the Professional Council of Diabetes Québec is comprised of researchers and health professionals working in the field of diabetes. The role of the CPDQ is to bring the expertise of its members to Diabetes Québec and its diabetes school: Universi-D.

The members of the 2020-2023 council are:

Dr. Rémi Rabasa-Lhoret, MD, PhD | President of the CPDQ
Full Research Professor – Montreal Clinical Research Institute (IRCM)
Full Associate Professor, Department of Nutrition, Faculty of Medicine – Université de Montréal
Vice President, Clinic and Clinical Research – IRCM
Director, Metabolic Diseases Research Unit – IRCM
Director, Diabetes, Metabolism and Obesity Clinic – IRCM
Director, Research Platform on Obesity, Metabolism and Diabetes – IRCM
Holder of the J.A. DeSève and Lamarre Gosselin Research Chairs – IRCM
Associate researcher – CHUM Research Centre
Physician, Endocrinology Division, Department of Medicine – CHUM
Adjunct Professor, Department of Medicine, Division of Experimental Medicine – McGill University

Dr. Julie Lavoie, PhD | President of Diabetes Québec Scholarship Committee
Headmistress and professor – Department of Kinesiology, Université de Montréal
Researcher and Scientific Advisor to the Rodent Phenotyping Platform – Cardiovascular – Centre de recherche du CHUM

Dr. Antoine Bouchard, MD
Endocrinologist – CIUSSS du Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean
Clinical Professor – Université de Sherbrooke

Dr. Anne-Sophie Brazeau, DtP, PhD
Assistant Professor, School of Human Nutrition – McGill University

Dr. André C. Carpentier, MD, FRCPC
Professor, Canada Research Chair in Molecular Imaging of Diabetes – Université de Sherbrooke
Department of Medicine – CHUS Research Center

Dr. Alexandre Chadi, Pharm D, CDE
Community Pharmacist – Parc-Extension, Montréal
Laboratory Manager and MSc candidate, Faculty of Pharmacy – Université de Montréal
Associate clinician, Faculty of Pharmacy – Université de Montréal
Clinical Lecturer, Faculty of Pharmacy – Université Laval

Steve Chalifoux, CN
Diabetes Specialist Nurse – CISSS de Laval

Dr. Kaberi Dasgupta, MD, MSc, FRCPC
Full Professor of Medicine – McGill University
Physician – McGill University Health Center (MUHC)
Director and Senior Scientist, Centre for Outcomes Research and Evaluation (CORE) – MUHC

Isabelle Frenette, CN
Nurse Clinician – CIUSSS du Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean
Specialized Clinics

Dr. Claudia Gagnon, MD, FRCPC
Endocrinologist – CHU de Québec
Associate Professor, Department of Medicine – Université Laval
Researcher – CHU de Québec Research Centre
Researcher – Institut universitaire de cardiologie et de pneumologie de Québec (IUCPQ)

Dr. Pedro Geraldes, PhD
Director of the Diabetes, Obesity and Cardiovascular Complications Center of Excellence – Université de Sherbrooke
Full Professor, Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences – Université de Sherbrooke
Holder of the Canada Research Chair in Diabetes and Vascular Complications

Dr. Mélanie Henderson, MD, PhD, FRCPC
Deputy Head, Research Axis, Metabolic and Cardiovascular Health – CHU Sainte-Justine Research Center
Pediatric endocrinologist, CHU Sainte-Justine
Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Pediatrics, Faculty of Medicine – Université de Montréal
Clinical Assistant Professor, School of Public Health – Université de Montréal
Department of Epidemiology, Biostatistics and Occupational Health – McGill University
Co-director of the Centre CIRCUIT – CHU Sainte-Justine

Dr. Nadine Taleb, MD, PhD
Endocrinologist – Centre hospitalier de l’Université de Montréal
Clinical Assistant Professor – Department of Medicine, Université de Montréal
Regular Researcher – Cardiometabolic Axis, CRCHUM

Health professionals, become a member of the CPDQ.